Bookmarked

OK, so I know I promised posts last week, but life and work has seemingly got in the way, so I haven’t got around to writing my posts up I am afraid. Although I feel that is how it should be; life should be taking over! But yeah, I have had a lot to get done  before my trip back UK side, but hopefully all will be published before I leave Lima!

This week I have been:

READING // I am saving all my books for my flights, no one likes to be sat in an airport with nothing to do. No one.

WATCHING // The Philharmonic Orchestra of Israel, conducted by Zubin Mehta, which is seen to be one of the best orchestras in the world. We saw them perform pieces by Mozart and Maher at the Gran Teatro Nacional del Perú in Lima this week and it was absolutely incredible.

EATING // We decided to go out for breakfast this week and headed to La Tiendecita Blanca just north of Kennedy Park in Miraflores. They do some good value set menus for tourists to try Peruvian food and some beautiful desserts (fyi my dad says the cheesecake is excellent). We tried their all inclusive tea menu, which includes coffee (or tea), a sandwich, juice (or pisco sour!) and a muffin (or strudel) for S/. 40. Could be seen as a little pricey, but try getting all those individual items for the same price! A lovely atmosphere, nice food and good service.

VISITING // The Inca Market in Miraflores on Petit Thouars (if you are coming up from Ricardo Palma, head straight for a couple of blocks, over Gonzales Prada and it is on your right hand side, opposite CompuPalace). This place is great for souvenirs, alpaca blankets, ceramics, paintings etc. I raided this place this week for stuff to take home for birthdays etc, it’s fun, and don’t forget to haggle a little!

My top online finds of the week (in no particular order):

  1. Birthday Cake Time! Only for another week more I promise! So, how about this pair of lovelies (I feel the giant candles are a bit much, oh and you may need google translate for the page!), or perhaps we just need an easy-peasy 2 ingredient white chocolate frosting?
  2. I am loving the look of this ice-cream….burnt sugar.…chocolate pieces
  3. 5 places to get rocoto relleno (stuffed chilli peppers) in Arequipa in a celebration of the city’s 473rd anniversary.
  4. In celebration of El Día del Niño (Children’s Day) this Sunday coming, here are a selection of children friendly recipes from Peru!
  5. Haha! DIY this!

 

bookmarked

 

And to finish.....

